Welcome to St. Andrews

22 Apr

View of the Fairmont Algonquin from the Pier in St. Andrews Harbour

As I had said before, in the town of St. Andrews there really only are the basics, after being here for a few days I think I am going to like that. Wandering on down from my dorm to Water Street (the main drag) you will find St. Andrews Harbour, which is in the Passamaquoddy Bay, and in the big scheme of things is all engulfed by the Bay of Fundy. The town is really easy to navigate around and you cannot get lost as it is on a grid system, plus the hotel is on the highest point of the town so you can see it from almost anywhere.

This morning I set out to print off some pictures down town (forgetting everything would be closed as it is Good Friday). I had already made the walk down the hill and it was a beautiful day, so I figured I might as well take this as the opportunity to enjoy a little walk to see some of the town.

There are quite a few restored homes that line the streets, full of character and each with their own personality. In specific the doors bright and colourful, gardens with impeccable manicuring, and historical signs informing those passing by about the history of the home.

Celtic Cross at Indian Point

A 5 km walk about the outskirts of town is beautiful and lined with history. For example, during the Potato famine Irish immigrants who came to New Brunswick were forced to live quarantined on designated islands just of the coast. They would have to stay here until it could be determined whether or not they would be a health risk to communities they hoped to enter. In 1995 a Celtic Cross was erected at Indian Point to commemorate the many men, women and children who died of hunger and disease on those islands. Reading this about the Celtic Cross reminded me of my visit to Ellis Island when I visited NYC last spring.

Close by this Celtic Cross are great beach front camping spots, green spaces for picnics, and walking trails through the Pagan Point Nature Reserve.

House on the Harbour

Passing through the town many locals were out enjoying the lovely spring day. With every time I passed by they gave a smile or a wave, I already love the people here! I have found something similar in all of the new places I have been, as long as you approach the community with a smile on your face, people are bound to smile back. What a concept hey?

So, the next time you are walking down the street, at home or in a new place put a smile on, it just may make someone else’s day!

Leave a Reply

