Happy Halloween

31 Oct

Now this may just be because I am procrastinating and avoiding writing a paper for my Seminar in Business course or actually because I had thought about doing this 3 months ago when I was packing away all of my stuff in St. Andrews… but in the spirit of Halloween I feel the need to share with you the stories of my ghostly encounters while working this past Summer at The Algonquin hotel in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada!

As soon as you Google ‘Canada’s Haunted Hotels‘ you will find many many lists of places to go and things to see. The Algonquin pops up on many of those lists, before going there for the summer, I had no idea; even Creepy Canada has episodes from the hotel. Now I have never previously had any sort of ‘encounter’ (I don’t think the weegie board ever counts or saying ‘Bloody Mary’ in the bathroom counts) but I have a feeling that lucky streak may have ended this summer.

There are various stories about different ghosts that haunt the hotel:

1. The Bellmen

2. The Lady of the Dining Room

3. The Crying Bride

4. The Playing Child

Guest rooms, dining rooms, and even our staff areas are said to be haunted by these spirits and until half way through the Summer I would have never believed it.

Many times I had gone to the basement and heard the sound of a bouncing ball, I thought it was strange due to the fact that there was no one else down there and above was no place children would be playing. I did what I needed to do, got back up stairs and thought nothing of it. One night back at home I was telling some other friends about this occurrence and immediately I could see something wrong in their faces. “HALEY!! Didn’t you know, there is a child that haunts that area and people that have had encounters with him say it is like they hear a tennis ball bouncing on a wall.” One of the other girls who had heard about this before, but never experienced it herself wanted to come with me the next time I had to go down there. I was sure to grab her, but together we heard nothing. The rest of the summer I was totally afraid to go down alone but never heard it again.

Many people come travel to hotels for the ghostly experiences and when my family came to visit me at the end of the summer, I had the pleasure of staying in the hotel as well. Early in the evening I was sharing with my family about The Crying Bride. There is a series of rooms she is said to haunt as she was stood up by her fiancé and was said to take her own life. Her spirit came back to the place that caused her to die of a broken heart. Personally I had spent time in the ‘haunted’ room and nothing happened. The evening we stayed in the hotel we were strangely awoken in the middle of the night to an unexplainable fire alarm, evacuated and then let back inside once it had been determined there was no fire. Again I thought nothing of it and comfortably went back to bed, my Nona on the other hand strongly believed that it was The Crying Bride because she had heard us talking about her earlier and wanted to prove she was still around.

The Bellman is said to be someone who makes his presence known in the winter. He usually greets guests at the elevator without saying a word and helps them with their luggage. When he takes them to their room they go for their wallet to give him a tip and he is already gone. When guests inquire at the front desk to leave the tip there, they are informed that during the winter months there is no bellman on staff. SPOOKY!

Others have had stories told or real experiences with The Lady of the Dining Room. When setting the restaurant people have said with no windows open full settings have been moved around with no one else in sight. This have never happened to me but I can sure believe it.

If you want to see the Creepy Canada episode I think you can find it online!

Happy Halloween!!

Leave a Reply

