Run Baby Bun!

26 Jan

Recently motivated by a dear friend (Jillian Walker) I have decided to run a half marathon this year with her in June. She had posted a blog in December and at first glance, I thought the idea was bonkers, nuts, but at the same time really cool. Just jokingly I said that I would come to cheer her across the finish line and be her biggest fan, she then suggested I be the one who struggles through it with her. Hmmm….

Upon my return from Taiwan I was trying to decide what I was going to do to keep active. In Kaohsiung I walked everywhere, my dorm was 231 stairs up a mountain from my classes (usually walked them 3 times a day), and throughout the semester I tried to fit yoga, swimming, or running into my daily life. It was the most active I had been in a long time and it felt great!

…. So this week I have officially started my training program to join Jill on her running adventure 🙂 One 8km, two 10km, and a fake trial of about 15km before the big run at the Seattle Rock n Roll half marathon in June. Training program #1 is to get me up to speed for an 8km race, after the 8km race training program #2 will commence to kick my ass into gear for the half marathon.

Here are the programs that I’m planning on following, friends keep me on track & any runners out there feel free to suggest or recommend others you like better! Feel free to comment on any other tips I should be aware of as a first time runner 😀 Suggestions for tone/flex days and cross training days are welcome as well!

Harry’s Run-Off 8km Training Program

Scotiabank Half Marathon Training Program

All of our races are listed in Jill’s blog from above. Fans with posters, cowbells, and wine for after the races are highly encouraged to cheer us on along the way! I’ll keep an update of how the preliminary races go, Jill has already done a 5km and ran her personal best (with limited training)… so I know we are going to kill it when we head to Seattle!

Wish Me Luck ❤

One Response to “Run Baby Bun!”

  1. Jillian Walker January 26, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    Eeeep!! So terrified and so excited! This is going to be amazing for our 2012. Fingers crossed no knee injuries.

Leave a Reply

